Print this page

CONTACT: Valerie Briggs
Director of External Communications
Direct: (703) 838-2686

Joe Mosso Awarded John W. Dargavel Medal by NCPA Foundation

New Orleans, LA (October 19, 2009) - Joe Mosso was honored as the recipient of the 2009 John W. Dargavel Medal by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation during NCPA's 111th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held October 17-21. The McKesson Corporation sponsors the annual award given by the NCPA Foundation to honor those whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961. In fact, the NCPA Foundation was established in 1953 to honor Dargavel.

"Joe Mosso exemplifies the stalwart passion and leadership that John Dargavel brought to our organization," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "His presidency of NCPA 20 years ago led us to the inception of the NCPA student outreach program. Joe’s subsequent, untiring work for the NCPA Foundation’s annual auction has provided the means to fund the scholarships and programs over many years."

Graduating from Duquesne University’s College of Pharmacy, Mosso was President of Mosso’s Pharmacy, Inc. in Latrobe, Pennsylvania for 40 years before retiring in 1996. Mosso served in the United States Army Medical Corps, as well. In addition, he also served as president of NCPA in 1989-90, and as a member of the NCPA Foundation Board of Trustees for 19 years.

Mosso has done a great deal of work in drug abuse programming. He created an information center for drug-related problems affecting parents and children. He founded the Committee on Drug Education in Latrobe, and co-founded the St. Vincent’s Primary Prevention Program with Dr. Robert Teeter. This led him to present papers at the International Congress in Switzerland and the International Congress on Alcohol and Drug Addiction in Copenhagen, Denmark.

As a result of his work in drug abuse programming, Mosso won numerous awards including NCPA’s Parke Davis Drug Abuse Education and Prevention Award, the Pennsylvania Pharmaceutical Association Community Service Award, and the American Pharmaceutical Association Daniel B. Smith Award.

Mosso showed his appreciation for Duquesne University’s College of Pharmacy by establishing the Joseph A. Mosso, Sr. Scholarship Fund. The school recognized him with the College of Pharmacy’s Distinguished Alumnus Award and the Hugh C. Muldoon Memorial Lecture Award. His fraternity awarded him with the Alpha Phi Delta Alumni, PSI Chapter Adam DiVincenzo Outstanding Citizen Award.

"McKesson has a long relationship with NCPA, and we share the same goal of high-quality health care by reducing costs, streamlining processes, and improving the quality of care and safety provided to patients," said Bill Hamik, senior vice president of field operations for McKesson Corporation. "We are proud to sponsor the Dargavel Medal, which this year honors a true champion of community pharmacy in the case of Joe Mosso."

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, community service programs, and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. For more information or to make a donation, visit

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) represents the nation's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 pharmacies. The nation's independent pharmacies, independent pharmacy franchises, and independent chains represent an $84 billion marketplace, employ over 300,000 employees and dispense nearly half of the nation's retail prescription medicines. To learn more go to

McKesson Corporation, currently ranked 18th on the Fortune 500, is a healthcare services and information technology company dedicated to helping its customers deliver high-quality healthcare by reducing costs, streamlining processes and improving the quality and safety of patient care. McKesson is the longest-operating company in healthcare today, marking its 175th anniversary this year. Over the course of its history, McKesson has grown by providing pharmaceutical and medical-surgical supply management across the spectrum of care; healthcare information technology for hospitals, physicians, homecare and payors; hospital and retail pharmacy automation; and services for manufacturers and payors designed to improve outcomes for patients. The McKesson Specialty business unit, which includes OTN and Onmark, delivers services that manufacturers, payors and providers need to ensure specialty pharmaceutical products, coordinated reimbursement and clinical services are available to patients with complex diseases. For more information, visit


Valerie Briggs
Director, External Communications and Marketing Outreach
National Community Pharmacists Association
100 Daingerfield Road
Alexandria, VA 22314