Print this page

CONTACT: Valerie Briggs
Director of External Communications
Direct: (703) 838-2686


NEW ORLEANS, LA (October 19, 2009) The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation has announced the recipients of 28 pharmacy student scholarships to be awarded for the 2009-2010 academic year. The announcements were made during the NCPA Foundation Awards Ceremony held the 111th NCPA Annual Convention and Trade Exposition from October 17-21.

"The NCPA Foundation is pleased to recognize and support this year's student achievers," said Sharlea Leatherwood, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "The future of community pharmacy is truly in capable hands with the leadership all of the award winners have shown. We are pleased to add them to our honor roll of scholarship alumni and wish them the best moving forward."

Neil F. Young, from the University of Kansas, was named the 2009 recipient of the Willard B. Simmons Sr. Memorial Scholarship. The Simmons Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a student who has demonstrated exemplary interest in pharmacy management.

Andrew M. Helm, from Washington State University, was named the 2009 recipient of the J.C. and Rheba Cobb Memorial Scholarship. This award is presented for exemplary interest in civic and government affairs, honoring former National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD) president and long-time NCPA Foundation board member J.C. Cobb and his wife, Rheba.

Lauren M. Bartoli, from University of Arizona, was named the 2009 recipient of the Neil Pruitt Sr. Memorial Scholarship. The award is named in honor of Neil Pruitt, Sr., a pillar of the independent pharmacy community. Pruitt served as president of NCPA, then known as NARD, in 1981-1982 and was a Trustee of the NCPA Foundation. The Neil Pruitt Sr. Memorial Scholarship is awarded based on leadership, academic achievement and a demonstrated exemplary interest in entrepreneurism.

The NCPA Foundation also awarded its 2009 Presidential Scholarships to 18 outstanding pharmacy students. The scholarship winners are selected on the basis of academic achievement, leadership qualities, interest in independent community pharmacy, and extracurricular accomplishments. The Presidential Scholarship program is made possible through corporate supporters. The 2009 sponsors are AmerisourceBergen, AstraZeneca, CARE Pharmacies, Cardinal, Covidien, Eli Lilly and Company, Forest Labs, McKesson, Pharmacists Mutual, Pharmacy Compounding Centers of America, Pharmacy First Wholesale Alliance, Procter & Gamble, PRS Pharmacy Services, Takeda Pharmaceuticals North America Inc., and TEVA. The Presidential Scholarship recipients are:

Richard P. Boyd, Ohio Northern University
Whitney L. Brace, University of Texas at Austin
Manpreet S. Chahal, Washington State University
Getrude Chimhungwe, University of Buffalo
Jinal Desai, University of Southern Nevada-South Jordan
Stephanie Dare Field, West Virginia University
Paul Frazier, University of Southern Nevada-South Jordan
Scott Halvorson, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Tanaz Kohan, University of Southern California
Lauren M. Marston, Virginia Commonwealth University
Chibuzor I. Okoro, Howard University
Brittany L. Provence, Drake University
Summer Schroeder, University of New Mexico
Regina Scott, University of New Mexico
Cassandra Lynn Shields, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Renee Nicole Tobey, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center
Kendra Kim VanGrinsven, University of Wyoming
Hillary L. Volsteadt, Mercer University

In addition, the NCPA Foundation awarded its 2009 Partners in Pharmacy Scholarships to seven pharmacy students. Named for the Partners in Pharmacy (PIP), an auxiliary supporting organization initially started in 1915 by the wives of NCPA (then NARD) pharmacist members, the scholarship recognizes academic achievement, community service, and a demonstrated interest in independent community pharmacy. The PIP scholarship recipients are:

Lucas Bozick, Texas Tech Health Science Center
Jennifer Evans, University of Southern Nevada-South Jordan
Sarah Griffin, University of Arkansas
Julie Keeton, University of Kansas
Staci Kurmel, Incarnate Word Feik School of Pharmacy
Jennifer Nemnich, University of Kansas
Sean Thurston, Washington State University

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, community service programs, and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances. For more information or to make a donation, visit

The National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) represents the nation's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 23,000 pharmacies. The nation's independent pharmacies, independent pharmacy franchises, and independent chains represent an $84 billion marketplace, employ over 300,000 employees and dispense nearly half of the nation's retail prescription medicines. To learn more go to


Valerie Briggs
Director, External Communications and Marketing Outreach
National Community Pharmacists Association
100 Daingerfield Road
Alexandria, VA 22314