Print this page

CONTACT: Valerie Briggs
Director of External Communications
Direct: (703) 838-2686


Anaheim, Ca. - October 14, 2007 - Pharmacist Lonnie Hollingsworth was honored as the recipient of the 2007 John W. Dargavel Medal by the National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) Foundation during the NCPA's 109th Annual Convention and Trade Exposition held October 13-17 in Anaheim, California.

"Lonnie's commitment to pharmacy at every level—with students, with his own pharmacy and with NCPA is without question," said Charles West, PD, NCPA Foundation President. "He has set an example of commitment and professionalism that is highly deserving of the Dargavel Medal.”

Hollingsworth, a 1986 past president of NCPA, owned and operated L&H Drugs in Lubbock, Texas and is the current chairman of the board for L&H Pharmacies, Inc. and a board member of the Community Pharmacy Foundation. He is also the former president of L&H Home Health Care, L&H Home Health Service Nursing Agencies and L&H Medical Supply Home Health Center. In addition to being a member of NCPA for over 50 years, Hollingsworth is also a member of the Texas Pharmaceutical Association, the West Texas Pharmaceutical Association, the Texas Pharmacy Foundation, the American Foundation for Pharmacy Education and the Pharmacy Freedom Fund, where he has held numerous elected and appointed positions.

Prior to being honored with the Dargavel Medal, Hollingsworth has received other awards and accolades, including Texas Pharmacist of the Year (in 1981 and again in 2001), the Texas Pharmacy Association Distinguished Service Award, the West Texas Pharmaceutical Association Heritage Award, the Outstanding Achievement in the Profession of Pharmacy Award and the William J. Sheffield Outstanding University of Texas School of Pharmacy Alumni Award.

In the community, Hollingsworth is active as well, including serving the city of Lubbock as a former mayor and city councilman, in addition to other service positions.  He is a member of the Elks Lodge, Lions Club, American Legion and Navy League.  Hollingsworth has also worked with the Boy Scouts, Habitat for Humanity, Multiple Sclerosis Society and the Crossroads Samaritan Counseling Center. He is a member of the Second Baptist Church in Lubbock and an avid runner, running in all 50 states and in all 254 counties of the state of Texas.  And he is committed to education, serving on the Dean's Advisory Councils of the Texas Tech School of Pharmacy and the University of Texas School of Pharmacy, and as a member of the Texas Tech University Foundation, the Lubbock Christian University President's Foundation and the University Medical Center Board of Governors.

The Dargavel Medal is awarded each year by the NCPA Foundation to honor those whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel, executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD), now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961. The NCPA Foundation was established in 1953 to honor Dargavel.


The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor former NARD Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the NCPA Foundation are tax-deductible to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The Foundation supports the growth and advancement of independent community pharmacy through low-interest educational loans and scholarships to pharmacy students in need, critical research and programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy, and financial assistance to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster, accidents, illness, or adverse circumstances.

The National Community Pharmacists Association, founded in 1898 as the National Association of Retail Druggists, represents the nation's community pharmacists, including the owners of more than 24,000 pharmacies. The nation's independent pharmacies, independent pharmacy franchises, and independent chains dispense nearly half of the nation's retail prescription medicines.


Valerie Briggs
Director, External Communications and Marketing Outreach
National Community Pharmacists Association
100 Daingerfield Road
Alexandria, VA 22314